Call Now

University of Kashmir

Updated on: Apr 23, 2013

The University of Kashmir (UOK) came into existence when the University of Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two individual universities – the University of Jammu and the University of Kashmir, in the year 1965.

The university has been granted grade “A” by National Accreditation and Assessment Council (NAAC). It serves as a state university and is a member of Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

The University has come a long way and has developed into a multi-faculty University, imparting instruction in various subjects in the Faculty of Arts, Languages, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Education, Commerce, Law, Medicine, Dental Surgery, Engineering, Music and Fine Arts and Non-formal Education, all manned by academics with considerable teaching and research experience, some of whom occupy places of eminence in the academic world.

It provides reasonable comfortable residential facilities - on first-come-first-served basis to the teaching and non-teaching staff as well as to students, male and female, in hostels.

The University has a centrally-heated central library, called Iqbal Library, with a vast collection of books, leading national and international journals and magazines and the internet facility.

Latest Notification : Central University of Kashmir Common Entrance Test notification 2012

University of Kashmir Departments

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Social Science
  • Faculty of Commerce & Management
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Biological Sciences
  • Faculty of Physical & Material Sciences
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences & Technology
For further information related to Kashmir University click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter